Mounted Police to perform parallel functions within their boundaries; (3) Municipal Police—every city of reasonable size has its own police organization which is paid for by the local taxpayers and which attends to purely police matters within the borders of the municipality concerned.

## Subsection 1.-The Royal Canadian Mounted Police\*

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a Civil Force maintained by the Federal Government. It was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police, whose duties were confined to what was then known as the North West Territories. By 1904, the work of the Force received signal recognition when the prefix "Royal" was bestowed upon it by King Edward VII. In 1905, when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted Provinces, an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This was continued until 1917.

In 1918, the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of enforcing Dominion legislation for the whole of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William. Soon after the end of World War I an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion statutes throughout Canada must be the responsibility of a Dominion Force and, therefore, the jurisdiction of the Royal North West Mounted Police was extended to the whole of Canada early in 1920. In that year, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the former Dominion Police with Headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

**Organization.**—The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (the Minister of Justice). Its Commissioner has the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and for many years have been selected from serving non-commissioned officers. The Force is divided into 15 Divisions, including the Marine Division with Headquarters at Halifax, N.S. There are 602 detachments distributed over the entire country. Its land force transportation consists of 1,023 motor-vehicles, most of which are fitted with twoway radio sets connecting with wireless stations operated by the Force. Such stations operate in both Western and Eastern Canada, including the Quebec-United States boundary area. The Aviation Section of the Force operates eight aircraft of various types. The strength of the Force is approximately 4,500 officers and men, with a reserve strength of about 350. The reserve strength is located chiefly in the larger cities where men can be congregated easily and where instruction can be given in the evenings.

The Marine Division has a strength of about 200 officers and men and operates 26 ships of various kinds, the majority of which are located on the Atlantic Coast and on the Great Lakes. The RCMP schooner *St. Roch*, which has been used as a floating detachment in the Far North and as a supply ship to isolated detachments, is the only ship to navigate the Northwest Passage from east to west and from west to east and is also the only vessel to have circumnavigated the North American Continent.

The Personnel Branch of the RCMP has officers in each Division across the country. Great care is taken in the selection of recruits.

<sup>\*</sup> Revised by Commissioner L. H. Nicholson, M.B.E., of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Ottawa.